arcademonitor.com
choosing a monitor

Monitor Question
Posted: Dec-8-2012 7:53 PM
Join Date:Dec-8-2012
Post: 3

Yesterday I purchases a Tekken Tag arcade machine. When I opened up the back I saw that a previous owner had spliced a extension chord directly to the power input of the monitor and had that cable along with the original power cable to the machine plugged into a power-strip. The game plays fine and the monitor looks great, but is this going to cause problems later? Is there any danger in powering monitor that way?

Posted: Dec-9-2012 10:02 PM
Join Date:Jul-9-2012
Post: 140

Most monitors have the isolation transformer built in on the chassis so you should be fine. What brand monitor is it?


ArcadeMonitor.com helping people fix arcade monitors and great products.

Posted: Dec-10-2012 6:45 PM
Join Date:Dec-8-2012
Post: 3

Thanks for the info. I am not sure what brand of monitor it was, and I have it backed into a corner right now, but I will try to check in the next couple of days. Is there an easy way to tell if the monitor has an isolation transformer built into it?
Thnaks

sign in to post reply